green spotted puffer

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Damien

Damien

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Interests:I LIKE KEEPING ALL DIFFERENT KINDS OF CICHLIDS. CURRENTLY I OWN THREE OSCARS AND ONE GREEN TERROR. I HAD A MIDAS BUT HE WAS TOO AGRESSIVE TOWARDS SOME OF MY OTHER FISH SO I HAD TO GET RID OF HIM. I ALSO HAVE A KNIFE FISH AN AFRICAN BUTTERFLY FISH A BLACK LACE ANGEL FISH AND AN EIGHT YEAR OLD COMET.

Posted 13 March 2004 - 06:30 AM

i just bought a very small green spotted puffer. he isnt even an inch long yet and i just put him in a 50 gal hexagonal tank. the pet store said not to mix him or her with another fish. why?
are they that agresive? can someone help me out with this? i am new to the puffer family

#2 knoxvillecichlids

knoxvillecichlids

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 25 posts

Posted 31 March 2004 - 09:20 AM

I have been pooking up your fish and found a few quotes that may be of some help.

"For 2 months there was 1 puffer and about 15 mollies in the tank. This leads me to my next point about puffer aggression, they don't like other tankmates. There are now about 7 mollies in the tank now, with absolutely no sign of the missing fish. Once I put a piece of krill into the tank, and one of the mollies was feeling pretty bold, so he decided he wanted to take a bite. The puffer didn't take kindly to this and promptly removed half of the mollies' head, including the gills and an eye. I watched this happen, and it was very quick and quite vicious."

"These fish can be kept in small groups but may do better individually as they can be aggressive and are territorial. Few other fish can be kept with them due to this temperament. If you want to keep fish with them try to avoid ones with long fins and pick faster moving fish which the puffer may not wish to chase."